TRENDING TOPICS: Celebrity Crime Economy NHS Transport Weather Football

London 2012 Olympics: Louis Smith helps Brits win historic first ‘team’ medal after 100 years

Written on:July 31, 2023
Add One

Louis Smith .. helps create history for Great Britain! (Image courtesy: sir.yoki)

Great Britain celebrated history after captain Louis Smith led Team GB’s gymnastics team to a historic win after 100 years with a team bronze medal at the London 2012 Olympics.

Smith created history four years ago in 2008 at the Beijing Olympics by winning Great Britain’s first individual medal at the Olympics since 1908 with a pommel horse bronze, a record 100 year history. Smith repeated history this year at London last night after his team became the first Brits to win a team gymnastics medal in 100 years.

A delighted Smith said, “This is what we’ve been working towards. After 100 years, silver, bronze, is anyone actually bothered? Because I’m not. For it to come together on this day is incredible. These guys now have more experience at the Olympic Games than I have, they’ve done more routines than me. It’s just such a bright future for British gymnastics.”

The girls opened the medals kitty 24 hours earlier and had left the men to bring back the gender equality in the medal’s table. Swimmer Rebecca Adlington and cyclist Lizzie Armitstead won Britain’s first medals on Sunday.

Ukraine came in close but the Brits showed superb focus to swing back in the final floor exercise. Smith added, “British gymnastics has been growing and growing. Now everyone will be more motivated than ever. This means so much and we’ve still got finals left. It’s a beautiful day for the sport and for British gymnastics.”


London 2012 Olympics: Empty seats at Games fuel anger among Brits
London 2012 Olympics – Greatest Show on Earth begins today!
London 2012: Olympics kicks off with football

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>